explore

iPhone Orienteering w/ www.GeoCaching.com

Sitting around late one night with a friend of mine on a regular trawl of YouTube for anything epic fail related we came across a trailer for the movie Splinterheads. It features a rather attractive and cool/bad-ass carnival girl who is uncharacteristically keen on the somewhat nerdy sport of GeoCaching. Skipping ahead we soon found ourself walking through an dubious nearby lane besides Keyham train station in Plymouth, UK  looking for a hidden 35mm flim container. To our amazement, we found the container and more importantly confirmed that there is actually an epic international treasure hunt happening all around us, present in nearly every country in the world – 1,300,000+ hidden caches according to the official website stat!

Not content with merely digging around the shadows of Plymouth’s suburbs, I wanted some more adventure, the kind glamorised by Galaxy in the movie when she leaps from a waterfall to retrieve goodies hidden at the bottom of a crystal clear mountain river.. Ok, my expectations are a little high for the likes of Devon but never the less a short search on the website unveils a series of caches along the South West Coast Path.. So the next day while the sun was bright and the weather was sweet I set off in search of countryside goodies – and here are my pics!

— These pics contain SPOILERS, so if your big on GC then you might not want to read further! —

This small ferry crosses the harbour and cuts out 4 miles from the walk. It's one of the many new things I discovered whilst on the hunt!
A recent landslide had led the council to fence off part of the path and establish a diversion... I climbed round the fence to take a look for myself, what's an adventure for hey!?
GeoCaching relies on GPS Coordinates to locate the cache. I wanted to save my iPhone battery for music so I relied on this hand drawn map.. All the more challenging, and it worked just as well.
The Bridge Cache 2 - A typical cache hide, small container beneath a stone, this one was behind an old iron post, presumably part of a previous bridge.
Coordinates for a bonus cache could be found split across the two locations... I'd forgotten to write down the Lat from the first find and so didn't get chance to hunt the bonus find.
Sunset from the path.

At first I found the idea of GeoCaching a little nerdy and more suited to the older crowd or families. But as with anything out there in the real world, you can make of it what you will. I chose to walk the whole way out there and back from home, chose to take the condemned route and did away with GPS, it made the whole thing that little more interesting and enjoyable, I’ll be hunting out more and more difficult caches in the future and leave the local park locations to the families. Moreover, I found a new side to a place I’d lived in for the past 2 years, I had no idea views like that above were sitting just a couple hours walk away…

Hopefully, less local pub and more local adventures in the future!

More pics on my flikr set.. GeoCaching – South West Coast Path

Leave a Reply

